But I gave up too soon. Terry Johnson, a Senior Advertising Consultant with the Business Development Department of Topspot Promotions wanted to contact me. Well, sort of. They wanted to contact the webmaster of DarkTaco. Did this look like the place to get that email address?
Dear Webmaster,
I would like to inform you of an interesting opportunity for your website.
I am looking for reputable websites to support us in promoting our client's websites and I would be more than happy to send you more information about our proposal.
If you are interested, please let me know and I will be happy to inform you further.
I am looking forward to hearing from you.
Best,
Terry Johnson
Senior Advertising Consultant
Business Development Department
terry@topspot-promotions.com
http://www.topspot-promotions.com
If you do not respond to this email you will not receive any additional emails from TopSpot-Promotions.
To permanently delete yourself from our list, simply reply to this with a blank email and you will not receive any communication from us in the future.
0343
I would like to inform you of an interesting opportunity for your website.
I am looking for reputable websites to support us in promoting our client's websites and I would be more than happy to send you more information about our proposal.
If you are interested, please let me know and I will be happy to inform you further.
I am looking forward to hearing from you.
Best,
Terry Johnson
Senior Advertising Consultant
Business Development Department
terry@topspot-promotions.com
http://www.topspot-promotions.com
If you do not respond to this email you will not receive any additional emails from TopSpot-Promotions.
To permanently delete yourself from our list, simply reply to this with a blank email and you will not receive any communication from us in the future.
0343
Dear Terry's name even appears on their site as a Promotion Manager. Maybe he/she was demoted since April. I'd like to point out that Terry is looking for "reputable websites." Look around. DarkTaco is many things, but something tells me he/she didn't read the post herself.
In any case, I am not judging them, nor making any claims about the company. I am merely demonstrating that there is good chance that Topspot Promotions utilizes spiders to scan websites for email addresses they can contact. Some might call this spam, but not me. I'm content with merely using the name Topspot Promotions and the word "spam" in the same post a few times, and letting the spiders figure it out.



2 comments:
Hehe, they've just send the same e-mail to me, and I decided to take a look around the Internet, to see what I could dig up. Thanks for sharing, you're not the only one who has written an interesting blogpost about them ;)
Just like Henrik, I received a mail from Topspot Promotions today. Written in Danish, actually a quite decent Danish, so Google Translate must be getting better.
Post a Comment
Exercise your 1st Amendment rights!